My first recipe post!

My ultimate goal for recipe posts is to include pictures as I go. However, that would take some planning ahead and not baking on a whim (i.e. not deciding I need to bake cookies at 10pm). So don’t get too used to seeing step-by-step pictures…

Today, I’ll share with you my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. You’ll notice that for most of my recipes, I try to make them slightly healthier without losing the taste. Yes, that includes cookies and desserts.

I promise you will enjoy these oatmeal banana chocolate chip cookies! They don’t last too long around the house, or the office, when I bake them. They are soft and chewy cookies (I’m not a fan of hard, crumbly cookies), with the perfect pop of sweetness. The key is to use dark brown sugar and dark chocolate chips (I may be a fan of Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips).

Oatmeal Banana Chocolate Chip cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • ~1 medium banana
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups oats
  • 1 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips (or more or less…)

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350* F
  2. Combine oats, flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a bowl; set aside.

    Flour and oat mixture

  3. In a separate bowl, stir brown sugar and butter until well blended.
  4. Stir in vanilla and egg until light and fluffy.

    Add egg and vanilla to butter, banana, and brown sugar mixture.

  5. Slowly mix flour/oat mixture into sugar/butter/egg mix.
  6. Stir in chocolate chips.

    Add flour/oat mixture to butter/sugar/egg mixture. Stir, then add that chocolate!

  7. Drop balls of dough onto a baking pan (however small or large you choose! Dough will spread out a little)

    Drop dough onto pan. I like to use (the cheap version) of Silpats.

  8. Bake for about 10 minutes (or until golden-brownish or however done you like)

ENJOY!

I have also been known to make half batches of this recipe. Still use a full egg (unless you have half a egg rolling around), it doesn’t make a difference!

Leave a Reply

