Is it really almost over?

The summer that is. It feels like I just moved to the mitten. And now I’m moving back to Tampa very soon. Overall, it’s been a good summer and I’m bummed to see it end…

I finally did get a paddleboard home and in usable condition. Round 1 of paddleboard transportation did not turn out so well…I don’t think roof racks are supposed to fly off your car, with board still attached. Le sigh cry.

Thankfully the roof rack company made good on their name and reimbursed me. Transportation of paddleboard #2 went much smoother. Possibly because I used a larger car. Or maybe because I used almost one million straps, superglue, and sat on top of the paddleboard while driving. Ok, maybe I wasn’t that crazy, but it was a very long 2 1/2 hour drive from Grand Haven. We won’t discuss how high my blood pressure was.

Needless to say, I’ve been really enjoying it. And would highly recommend the Wet Mitten Surf Shop in Grand Haven (and Traverse City) if you’re looking for one.

I also completed my first sprint triathlon. I loved it…! And promptly signed up for another one. I also completed it on a mountain bike (please kill me) and my next big purchase will be a road bike. I may, or may not have, entertained the idea of opting for a road bike instead of housing once I move back to Tampa. I’m sure I could tow a pop-up camper behind me or something – providing room for sleeping and carrying some clothes. Right?

Don’t worry, I did find a proper apartment to live at (and close to the beach to boot). My brother came with me on the ‘apartment hunting trip,’ mostly to go off-shore fishing with my cousin, but he did look at some places with me. The fishing was successful and we were all able to eat dinner. We also had a fantastic time with family – fishing and riding on the boat.

*Note: I did not play any part in the catching of that grouper. It was tasty though!

And that’s where it is…I leave in less than 10 days. It’s bittersweet. I’ve had a great time up here with family and friends and I’m really sad to see it end…but I know there’s next summer. And I know the summer fun ends in a few weeks anyways…:(

Have you figured out yet that I love the water and being near (and on) it?!

Leave a Reply

